Home > Enterprise & Quality > Research & Development > Determination of Pesticides


BIUTEC
Chartered
Engineering
Consultant
Accreditation &
Quality Assurance

Technical Equipment

References
Research &
Development
Gallery
 

Development of analysis procedures for the determination of pesticides by use of multi-methods

The pesticide analysis methods that have been used until now, can be generically described by:

1) solid phase extraction (SPE) of the (filtered) water samples for the     isolation and enrichment of the relevant analytes

2) performing of the necessary washing steps for the separation,     respectively depletion of the matrix

3) elution of the analytes in a small amount of adequate solvent

4) chromatographic analysis.

This generic process represents the best available technology at the moment. It is however, because of the large number of worksteps that have to be done manually, very expensive. Moreover, it presents a whole series of difficulties, based particularly on the very different chemical structures and features of the substances to be analysed: not all the analytes can be equally well accumulated on the common (silica-based C18-) SPE-materials, respectively eluted again from the strongly adsorbent materials with small amounts of solvents (as it would be necessary for on-line processes). The chromatographic separation of the analytes that are sufficiently volatile can be done using the gas chromatography (GC), but requires liquid chromatographic methods (HPLC) for polar and temperature sensitive substances. Also for HPLC different chromatographic conditions, and therefore separate runs, may be required. The commonly used UV-detection has so far the disadvantage that it is not sensitive to certain analytes and therefore not selective enough.

Starting from the best available technology, the following modifications and improvements of the above mentioned generic methods have been researched

a) the enrichment of the analytes and elution in the HPLC to be done on-line,
b) the detection of the analyte to be done with mass spectroscopy (MS).

The on-line enrichment and on-line elution have the advantage that, in comparison with off-line processes, either considerably lower detection limits can be achieved for the enrichment of the same amount of sample, or the volume of the sample can be significantly decreased, maintaining the same detection limits. The resulting advantage is mainly the acceleration of the sample preparation, but also the smaller volume of sample required.

Moreover, the on-line enrichment has the advantage that it can be automated. Under adequate boundary conditions, in order to ensure the stability of the analyte until the analysis is done, it is possible to analyse, in a special configuration, up to 50 samples in one sequence, so that the enrichment and analysis interlace and are therefore more time effective.

The detection of the analyte by means of mass spectrometry presents the advantage of a higher sensitivity, together with a better selectivity of the determination.

The development work is professionally supported by:
Associate Univ. Prof. E.-E. Rosenberg, MSc. PhD. - Vienna University of Technology, Institute for Chemical Technologies and Analysis, Department for Analytical Chemistry, Univ. Prof. G. Allmaier, PhD.- Vienna University of Technology, Institute for Chemical Technologies and Analysis, Assistent Prof. Hann, PhD. MSc. - University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Vienna, Institute for Chemistry, Department for Analysis

This research project has been financially supported by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency Ltd. (FFG).

Back

Home > Unternehmen & Qualität > F & E >Pestiziduntersuchung mittels Multimethoden


BIUTEC
Zivilingenieur
Akkreditierung &
Qualitätssicherung

Technische Ausstattung

Referenzprojekte
Forschung &
Entwicklung
Galerie
 

Entwicklung von Analyseverfahren zur Pestizid-Untersuchung mittels Multimethoden

Die bisher zur Pestizid-Analytik verwendeten Methoden lassen sich generisch wie folgt beschreiben:

1) Festphasenextraktion (SPE) der (gefilterten) Wasserproben zur     Isolation und Anreicherung der relevanten Analyten

2) Durchführung erforderlicher Waschschritte zur Abtrennung bzw.     Abreicherung der Matrix

3) Elution der Analyten in einem geringen Volumen eines geeigneten     Lösungsmittels

4) chromatographische Analyse.

Dieses generische Verfahren stellte bisher den Stand der Technik dar. Es ist allerdings, durch die zahlreichen manuell durchzuführenden Arbeitsschritte ein sehr arbeitsaufwendiges und damit höchst kostenintensives Verfahren. Zudem weist es auch eine Reihe von Schwierigkeiten auf, die vor allem in den sehr unterschiedlichen chemischen Strukturen und Eigenschaften der zu untersuchenden Substanzen begründet sind: es lassen sich nicht alle Analyten gleichermaßen gut auf den üblichen (silika-basierenden C18-) SPE-Materialien anreichern, bzw. von den starken Adsorbentien nicht mit kleinen Lösungsmittelvolumina (wie dies für on-line-Verfahren notwendig wäre) wieder eluieren. Die chromatographische Trennung kann bei ausreichend flüchtigen Analyten über die Gaschromatographie (GC) erfolgen, erfordert aber bei polaren oder thermolabilen Substanzen die Flüssigkeitschromatographie (HPLC), wobei auch bei der HPLC unterschiedliche chromatographische Bedingungen und damit getrennte Läufe notwendig sein können. Die üblicherweise verwendete UV-Detektion hat zudem den Nachteil, für manche Analyten zu unempfindlich und darüber hinaus nicht ausreichend selektiv zu sein.

Ausgehend vom Stand der Technik werden/wurden folgende Veränderungen und Verbesserungen an der oben angeführten generischen Methode untersucht:

a) die Anreicherung der Proben und Elution in die HPLC erfolgt online,
b) die Detektion der Analyten erfolgt mittels Massenspektroskopie (MS).

Die online-Anreicherung und online-Elution bieten den Vorteil, dass im Vergleich zum offline-Verfahren entweder wesentlich niedrigere Nachweisgrenzen bei der Anreicherung gleicher Probenvolumina erreicht werden können, oder aber bei Beibehaltung der Nachweisgrenze die anzureichernden Probenvolumina erheblich reduziert werden können. Der daraus resultierende Vorteil liegt primär in der Beschleunigung der Probenvorbereitung, aber auch in den dadurch geringeren erforderlichen Probenvolumina.

Zudem bietet die online-Probenanreicherung den Vorteil der Automatisierbarkeit. Unter geeigneten Randbedingungen zur Sicherstellung der Stabilität der Analyten bis zur Analyse können je nach spezieller Konfiguration bis zu 50 Proben in einer Sequenz untersucht werden, wobei die Anreicherung und die Analyse verschachtelt und damit zeitökonomisch ablaufen.

Die Detektion der Analyten mittels Massenspektrometrie bietet den Vorteil größerer Empfindlichkeit gekoppelt mit besserer Selektivität der Bestimmung.

Die Entwicklungsarbeit wird fachlich unterstützt durch:
ao. Univ. Prof. Dipl. Ing. Dr. Rosenberg - TU Wien, Institut für Chemische Technologien und Analytik, Abteilung für Analytische Chemie, Univ. Prof. Mag. Dr. Allmaier - TU Wien, Institut für Chemische Technologien und Analytik, Privat- Doz. DI Dr. Hann - BOKU Wien, Institut für Chemie, Department für Analytik

Das Forschungsprojekt wurde/wird finanziell unterstützt durch die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft mbH (FFG).

Zurück